Updated:
← Back to Top 12 Bookkeepers Elsewhere in Alabama (2026)

Byrd, Smalley & Adams, CPA

Evidence Score 36/100 at 72% evidence coverage 6 of 12 on the Alabama list How the score works

What we could verify

Registered business?
Not verified
CPA license or firm permit?
CPA firm permit active · F581 · Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy (licensesearch.alabama.gov)
Publishes prices?
Not stated on its website
Local or remote?
Not stated on its website
Software?
None named on its website

Who they say they serve: construction, contractors, healthcare, nonprofits, agriculture (self-reported, from the firm's own website)

1 of 5 answered from a dated source.

Documents 3 of 5 core services; CPA license verified with the state board.

Score breakdown

Documented services + buyer fit19 of 40 pts, 40 checked
Independently verifiable qualifications8 of 20 pts, 8 checked
Operational + pricing transparency7 of 25 pts, 22 checked
Verified identity + continuity2 of 15 pts, 2 checked

Dark bar: points earned. Grey bar: the weight we could check.

Evidence

Unless a row says otherwise, the source is the named page of Byrd, Smalley & Adams, CPA's own website (self-reported), read Sep 26, 2026.
ClaimWhat the source showsSourcePoints
Business name Byrd, Smalley & Adams, CPA home page
Website https://byrdsmalley.com/ home page
Office locality Decatur, AL home page
Phone +12563531611 home page
Offers bookkeeping Documented: ...Our Services Services We Provide Accounting Services Monthly, Quarterly, or Annual Bookkeeping: Maintain accurate financial records through our comprehensive bookkeeping services... /services/accounting-payroll-reporting
AP / AR Documented: ...through our comprehensive bookkeeping services, which include bank reconciliations, accounts receivable and payable management, and detailed transaction tracking. Financial... /services/accounting-payroll-reporting 4 pts (max 4)
Payroll coordination Documented: ...explore our expertise Tax Planning & Preparation Assurance & Attestation Accounting, Payroll & Reporting Business Advisory & Consulting Services Retirement Planning &... home page 4 pts (max 4)
Month-end close + reporting Documented: ...accounts receivable and payable management, and detailed transaction tracking. Financial Statement Preparation: Preparation of detailed and accurate financial statements to... /services/accounting-payroll-reporting 6 pts (max 6)
Industries served (documented) construction, contractors, healthcare, nonprofits, agriculture, technology home page 5 pts (max 5)
Active CPA firm or individual license (state board) CPA firm permit active · F581 · Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy (licensesearch.alabama.gov) State accountancy board
Third-party
Sep 26, 2026
8 pts (max 8)
Onboarding described Documented: ...and more. We prioritize compliance with all regulatory requirements, ensuring that your onboarding process is efficient and stress-free. W-2 and 1099 Filing Services: We handle... /services/accounting-payroll-reporting 4 pts (max 4)
Named contact / team Timothy A. Smalley, CPA /our-team 3 pts (max 3)
Privacy / data-handling page Documented: Privacy Policy /privacy-policy 2 pts (max 2)

Checked and not found

  • Not documented. Checked 8 pages of the firm's own site on 2026-09-26 (Firm's own website): Monthly bookkeeping (0 pts, max 8); Catch-up / cleanup (0 pts, max 5); Software supported (0 pts, max 5); Local / remote model stated (0 pts, max 3); Pricing approach published (0 pts, max 6); What is included / excluded (0 pts, max 5); Reporting cadence stated (0 pts, max 4).

Not verified (not checked yet, so each scores 0 and counts against coverage): Service area; Current QuickBooks ProAdvisor or Xero advisor listing (0 pts, max 6); Bookkeeping designation (AIPB/NACPB) or IRS directory credential (0 pts, max 6); Communication channel / process (0 pts, max 3); Entity found in the state business registry (0 pts, max 6); Years operating (registry formation date) (0 pts, max 5); Working contact route verified (0 pts, max 2).

Check it yourself on the state's own records: Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy license search and business registry search.

  • Active CPA firm or individual license (state board): Alabama lists an ACTIVE CPA firm permit (Open) under this name. It does not prove service quality.

Data limitations

  • 19 of 20 evidenced items come from Byrd, Smalley & Adams, CPA's own website and are labelled self-reported.
  • No ratings or review counts are published here. Why.

Is this your firm?

Claim this listing to correct a field with evidence, or report a correction. Claiming confirms ownership only; it does not change the score.