The John Ellis Company
What we could verify
- Registered business?
- Not verified
- CPA license or firm permit?
- CPA license active (individual: The John Ellis Company) · 6324 · California Board of Accountancy (DCA public licensee data file)
- Publishes prices?
- Not stated on its website
- Local or remote?
- Not stated on its website
- Software?
- QuickBooks, Xero
Who they say they serve: retail, professional services, transportation, manufacturing, startups (self-reported, from the firm's own website)
2 of 5 answered from a dated source.
Documents 1 of 5 core services; CPA license verified with the state board.
Score breakdown
Dark bar: points earned. Grey bar: the weight we could check.
Evidence
| Claim | What the source shows | Source | Points |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business name | The John Ellis Company | home page | |
| Website | https://www.thejohnelliscompany.cpa/ | home page | |
| Office locality | Long Beach, CA | home page | |
| Phone | +18774123443 | home page | |
| Offers bookkeeping | Documented: ...local tax compliance and consulting Tax controversy Virtual CFO services Accounting, bookkeeping and payroll Budgeting and forecasting Accounting systems consulting Beyond his... | home page | |
| Payroll coordination | Documented: ...and consulting Tax controversy Virtual CFO services Accounting, bookkeeping and payroll Budgeting and forecasting Accounting systems consulting Beyond his deep CPA expertise... | home page | 4 pts (max 4) |
| Industries served (documented) | retail, professional services, transportation, manufacturing, startups, e-commerce, technology | home page | 5 pts (max 5) |
| Software supported | QuickBooks, Xero | /accounting-and-bookkeeping-services | 5 pts (max 5) |
| Active CPA firm or individual license (state board) | CPA license active (individual: The John Ellis Company) · 6324 · California Board of Accountancy (DCA public licensee data file) | State accountancy board Third-party Sep 26, 2026 expires Sep 30, 2027 | 8 pts (max 8) |
| Named contact / team | John Ellis, CPA | home page | 3 pts (max 3) |
| Privacy / data-handling page | Documented: Privacy Policy | /privacy-policy | 2 pts (max 2) |
Checked and not found
- Not documented. Checked 8 pages of the firm's own site on 2026-09-26 (Firm's own website): Monthly bookkeeping (0 pts, max 8); Catch-up / cleanup (0 pts, max 5); AP / AR (0 pts, max 4); Month-end close + reporting (0 pts, max 6); Local / remote model stated (0 pts, max 3); Pricing approach published (0 pts, max 6); What is included / excluded (0 pts, max 5); Onboarding described (0 pts, max 4); Reporting cadence stated (0 pts, max 4); Communication channel / process (0 pts, max 3).
Not verified (not checked yet, so each scores 0 and counts against coverage): Service area; Current QuickBooks ProAdvisor or Xero advisor listing (0 pts, max 6); Bookkeeping designation (AIPB/NACPB) or IRS directory credential (0 pts, max 6); Entity found in the state business registry (0 pts, max 6); Years operating (registry formation date) (0 pts, max 5); Working contact route verified (0 pts, max 2).
Check it yourself on the state's own records: California Board of Accountancy license search and business registry search.
- Active CPA firm or individual license (state board): California lists an ACTIVE CPA firm license (Active) under this name, expiring 2027-09-30. It does not prove service quality.
Data limitations
- 20 of 21 evidenced items come from The John Ellis Company's own website and are labelled self-reported.
- No ratings or review counts are published here. Why.
Is this your firm?
Claim this listing to correct a field with evidence, or report a correction. Claiming confirms ownership only; it does not change the score.