Updated:
← Back to Top 13 Bookkeepers Elsewhere in Iowa (2026)

O’Connor, Brooks & Co., P.C.

Evidence Score 39/100 at 78% evidence coverage 3 of 13 on the Iowa list How the score works

What we could verify

Registered business?
Registration found: Iowa Secretary of State, status Active (DOMESTIC PROFESSIONAL; Iowa active entities file, 2026-09 download), formed 1987
CPA license or firm permit?
Not verified
Publishes prices?
Not stated on its website
Local or remote?
Not stated on its website
Software?
QuickBooks

Who they say they serve: professional services (self-reported, from the firm's own website)

2 of 5 answered from a dated source.

Documents 2 of 5 core services; registered entity verified.

Score breakdown

Documented services + buyer fit20 of 40 pts, 40 checked
Independently verifiable qualifications0 of 20 pts, 0 checked
Operational + pricing transparency8 of 25 pts, 25 checked
Verified identity + continuity11 of 15 pts, 13 checked

Dark bar: points earned. Grey bar: the weight we could check.

Evidence

Unless a row says otherwise, the source is the named page of O’Connor, Brooks & Co., P.C.'s own website (self-reported), read Sep 26, 2026.
ClaimWhat the source showsSourcePoints
Business name O’Connor, Brooks & Co., P.C. home page
Website https://oconnorbrooks.com/ home page
Office locality Dubuque, IA home page
Phone +15635827224 home page
Offers bookkeeping Documented: ...include but are not limited to: General ledger and financial statement preparation Bookkeeping (monthly, quarterly or annual) Accounting system (including QuickBooks ) setup and... /accounting-services
Payroll coordination Documented: ...of time and expertise to each of its clients. Whether it be income tax preparation, payroll services, financial statement compilation, or management advisory services, firm... /about 4 pts (max 4)
Month-end close + reporting Documented: ...to each of its clients. Whether it be income tax preparation, payroll services, financial statement compilation, or management advisory services, firm personnel strive to maintain... /about 6 pts (max 6)
Industries served (documented) professional services /services 5 pts (max 5)
Software supported QuickBooks /accounting-services 5 pts (max 5)
What is included / excluded Documented: ...in an ever-changing financial and regulatory environment. Professional services offered include: Accounting Assurance and Attestation Audits, Reviews and Compilations Bookkeeping... /services 5 pts (max 5)
Named contact / team Jim Hannan, CPA /our-team 3 pts (max 3)
Entity found in the state business registry Business registration found: O'CONNOR, BROOKS & CO. P.C. · IA corp no. 116311 · Iowa Secretary of State · Active (DOMESTIC PROFESSIONAL; Iowa active entities file, 2026-09 download) State business registry
Third-party
Sep 26, 2026
6 pts (max 6)
Years operating (registry formation date) Formed 1987-07-02 (effective date of an Iowa-formed entity) State business registry
Third-party
Sep 26, 2026
5 pts (max 5)

Checked and not found

  • Not documented. Checked 8 pages of the firm's own site on 2026-09-26 (Firm's own website): Monthly bookkeeping (0 pts, max 8); Catch-up / cleanup (0 pts, max 5); AP / AR (0 pts, max 4); Local / remote model stated (0 pts, max 3); Pricing approach published (0 pts, max 6); Onboarding described (0 pts, max 4); Reporting cadence stated (0 pts, max 4); Communication channel / process (0 pts, max 3); Privacy / data-handling page (0 pts, max 2).

Not verified (not checked yet, so each scores 0 and counts against coverage): Service area; Active CPA firm or individual license (state board) (0 pts, max 8); Current QuickBooks ProAdvisor or Xero advisor listing (0 pts, max 6); Bookkeeping designation (AIPB/NACPB) or IRS directory credential (0 pts, max 6); Working contact route verified (0 pts, max 2).

Check it yourself on the state's own records: Iowa Accountancy Examining Board license search and business registry search.

  • Entity found in the state business registry: Business registration found: Iowa Secretary of State active business entities (Iowa Data Hub dataset 554) lists O'CONNOR, BROOKS & CO. P.C. (IA corp no. 116311), status Active (DOMESTIC PROFESSIONAL; Iowa active entities file, 2026-09 download), checked 2026-09-26. It confirms a registered entity, not a license to practice accountancy.
  • Years operating (registry formation date): The registry records 1987-07-02 as the effective date of an Iowa-formed entity.

Data limitations

  • 20 of 22 evidenced items come from O’Connor, Brooks & Co., P.C.'s own website and are labelled self-reported.
  • No ratings or review counts are published here. Why.

Is this your firm?

Claim this listing to correct a field with evidence, or report a correction. Claiming confirms ownership only; it does not change the score.