Updated:
← Back to Top 12 Bookkeepers Elsewhere in Alabama (2026)

Machen McChesney

Evidence Score 43/100 at 72% evidence coverage 1 of 12 on the Alabama list How the score works

What we could verify

Registered business?
Not verified
CPA license or firm permit?
CPA firm permit active · F260 · Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy (licensesearch.alabama.gov)
Publishes prices?
Not stated on its website
Local or remote?
Not stated on its website
Software?
None named on its website

Who they say they serve: healthcare, professional services (self-reported, from the firm's own website)

1 of 5 answered from a dated source.

Documents 3 of 5 core services; CPA license verified with the state board.

Score breakdown

Documented services + buyer fit23 of 40 pts, 40 checked
Independently verifiable qualifications8 of 20 pts, 8 checked
Operational + pricing transparency12 of 25 pts, 22 checked
Verified identity + continuity0 of 15 pts, 2 checked

Dark bar: points earned. Grey bar: the weight we could check.

Evidence

Unless a row says otherwise, the source is the named page of Machen McChesney's own website (self-reported), read Sep 26, 2026.
ClaimWhat the source showsSourcePoints
Business name Machen McChesney home page
Website https://www.machen.cpa/ home page
Office locality Auburn, AL home page
Phone +13348877022 home page
Offers bookkeeping Documented: ...Valuation Family and Elder Care Individual Tax Planning and Consulting Outsourced Bookkeeping Wealth Management Services We Return Value through our financial planning and wealth... /about-us/family-of-companies
Monthly bookkeeping Documented: ...to grow. Services we routinely provide to our professional services clients include: Monthly bookkeeping Monthly financial statements Tax planning & consulting Audits, reviews &... /industries/healthcare-and-professional-services 8 pts (max 8)
Payroll coordination Documented: ...Family Office Services Tailored financial services for busy individuals and families. Payroll Streamlined payroll and benefits administration. Audit & Assurance Keen reporting... home page 4 pts (max 4)
Month-end close + reporting Documented: ...Outsourced bookkeeping Outsourced payroll Outsourced accounting & CFO services Monthly financial statements Rolling 12-month financials Audits, reviews & compilations Payables... /industries/healthcare-and-professional-services 6 pts (max 6)
Industries served (documented) healthcare, professional services /industries/healthcare-and-professional-services 5 pts (max 5)
Active CPA firm or individual license (state board) CPA firm permit active · F260 · Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy (licensesearch.alabama.gov) State accountancy board
Third-party
Sep 26, 2026
8 pts (max 8)
What is included / excluded Documented: ...business life cycle. Services we routinely provide to our healthcare practice clients include: Start-up services Tax planning & consulting Outsourced bookkeeping Outsourced payroll... /industries/healthcare-and-professional-services 5 pts (max 5)
Reporting cadence stated Documented: ...Outsourced bookkeeping Outsourced payroll Outsourced accounting & CFO services Monthly financial statements Rolling 12-month financials Audits, reviews & compilations Payables... /industries/healthcare-and-professional-services 4 pts (max 4)
Named contact / team Michael D. Machen, CPA /about-us/family-of-companies 3 pts (max 3)

Checked and not found

  • Not documented. Checked 12 pages of the firm's own site on 2026-09-26 (Firm's own website): Catch-up / cleanup (0 pts, max 5); AP / AR (0 pts, max 4); Software supported (0 pts, max 5); Local / remote model stated (0 pts, max 3); Pricing approach published (0 pts, max 6); Onboarding described (0 pts, max 4); Privacy / data-handling page (0 pts, max 2).

Not verified (not checked yet, so each scores 0 and counts against coverage): Service area; Current QuickBooks ProAdvisor or Xero advisor listing (0 pts, max 6); Bookkeeping designation (AIPB/NACPB) or IRS directory credential (0 pts, max 6); Communication channel / process (0 pts, max 3); Entity found in the state business registry (0 pts, max 6); Years operating (registry formation date) (0 pts, max 5); Working contact route verified (0 pts, max 2).

Check it yourself on the state's own records: Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy license search and business registry search.

  • Active CPA firm or individual license (state board): Alabama lists an ACTIVE CPA firm permit (Open) under this name. It does not prove service quality.

Data limitations

  • 19 of 20 evidenced items come from Machen McChesney's own website and are labelled self-reported.
  • No ratings or review counts are published here. Why.

Is this your firm?

Claim this listing to correct a field with evidence, or report a correction. Claiming confirms ownership only; it does not change the score.