Updated:
← Back to Bookkeepers in the Sioux Falls Area, SD Compared (2026)

Dakota CPA

Evidence Score 48/100 at 77% evidence coverage How the score works

What we could verify

Registered business?
Not verified
CPA license or firm permit?
CPA firm permit active · SD firm permit (register lists no number) · South Dakota Board of Accountancy (annual register)
Publishes prices?
Not stated on its website
Local or remote?
Not stated on its website
Software?
QuickBooks

Who they say they serve: construction, real estate, trucking, transportation (self-reported, from the firm's own website)

2 of 5 answered from a dated source.

Documents 3 of 5 core services; CPA license verified with the state board.

Score breakdown

Documented services + buyer fit28 of 40 pts, 40 checked
Independently verifiable qualifications8 of 20 pts, 8 checked
Operational + pricing transparency8 of 25 pts, 25 checked
Verified identity + continuity4 of 15 pts, 4 checked

Dark bar: points earned. Grey bar: the weight we could check.

Evidence

Unless a row says otherwise, the source is the named page of Dakota CPA's own website (self-reported), read Sep 26, 2026.
ClaimWhat the source showsSourcePoints
Business name Dakota CPA home page
Website https://www.dakota.cpa/ home page
Office locality Sioux Falls, SD /contact
Phone +16057056350 home page
Offers bookkeeping Documented: Dakota CPA | Taxes, Payroll & Bookkeeping in Sioux Falls (605) 705-6350 | Join Our Team Accountants You Can Rely On You’re more... home page
Monthly bookkeeping Documented: ...Talk Payroll Setup Bookkeeping Clean monthly books and useful reports Includes: Monthly reconciliation & close AP/AR tracking and cleanup/catch-up Management reports you’ll... /services 8 pts (max 8)
Payroll coordination Documented: Dakota CPA | Taxes, Payroll & Bookkeeping in Sioux Falls (605) 705-6350 | Join Our Team Accountants You Can Rely On... home page 4 pts (max 4)
Month-end close + reporting Documented: ...work. Top responsibilities Review and sign off on business/individual returns Oversee monthly close and financial accuracy Advise on payroll setup and compliance Coach teammates... /careers 6 pts (max 6)
Industries served (documented) construction, real estate, trucking, transportation home page 5 pts (max 5)
Software supported QuickBooks /careers 5 pts (max 5)
Active CPA firm or individual license (state board) CPA firm permit active · SD firm permit (register lists no number) · South Dakota Board of Accountancy (annual register) State accountancy board
Third-party
Sep 26, 2026
8 pts (max 8)
What is included / excluded Documented: ...Personal & Business Tax Preparation Filing and planning for individuals and businesses. Includes: Individual & business returns (federal/state) Extensions & quarterly estimates... /services 5 pts (max 5)
Named contact / team Bryan R. Hakeman, Owner /about 3 pts (max 3)
Working contact route verified [email protected] (mail server found) DNS check
Third-party
Sep 26, 2026
2 pts (max 2)
Privacy / data-handling page Documented: SMS Terms of Service & Privacy Policy /sms-terms-privacy 2 pts (max 2)

Checked and not found

  • Not documented. Checked 7 pages of the firm's own site on 2026-09-26 (Firm's own website): Catch-up / cleanup (0 pts, max 5); AP / AR (0 pts, max 4); Local / remote model stated (0 pts, max 3); Pricing approach published (0 pts, max 6); Onboarding described (0 pts, max 4); Reporting cadence stated (0 pts, max 4); Communication channel / process (0 pts, max 3).

Not verified (not checked yet, so each scores 0 and counts against coverage): Service area; Current QuickBooks ProAdvisor or Xero advisor listing (0 pts, max 6); Bookkeeping designation (AIPB/NACPB) or IRS directory credential (0 pts, max 6); Entity found in the state business registry (0 pts, max 6); Years operating (registry formation date) (0 pts, max 5).

  • Active CPA firm or individual license (state board): South Dakota lists an ACTIVE CPA firm permit (listed on the 2025 annual register) under this name. It does not prove service quality.
  • Working contact route verified: The email address the firm publishes is on a domain that accepts mail (MX record present).

Data limitations

  • 20 of 22 evidenced items come from Dakota CPA's own website and are labelled self-reported.
  • No ratings or review counts are published here. Why.

Is this your firm?

Claim this listing to correct a field with evidence, or report a correction. Claiming confirms ownership only; it does not change the score.